New Coop Coffees Chair: Tripp!

Written by Cafe Campesino on Sep 14, 2011 in Article, NEWSLETTER |


Cooperative Coffees Members (plus Tripp- beige shirt, leaning on rail) picutred during the 2011 Annual General Meeting held in Whitehorse, Yukon Territories- the home of fellow coop member, Bean North.


During Cooperative Coffees’ Aug. 18-21 Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Whitehorse, Yukon Territories, roaster members elected a new chair of for the coop’s board of directors, and he is none other than [insert imagined drum roll]  our own Tripp Pomeroy!  As chair, Tripp will represent the 24 roaster members who make up Cooperative Coffees – the one-of-a-kind green coffee importing cooperative that allows Café Campesino to work directly – and fairly – with farmers. 

This is an especially exciting time for Cooperative Coffees, as Janet Utecht was hired earlier this year as the organization’s new executive director and the cooperative embarked on a three-year strategic plan that it had developed over the past 12 months.  Prior to becoming chair, Tripp served as vice-chair of the board of directors under the leadership of then-chair, Queen Bean Lee Wallace of Peace Coffee.  Lee will remain on the board this year and will be joined by the following members: Helen Voogd of Bean North, who will be vice-chair; Mike Moon of Just Coffee, who is also vice-chair; Chris Treter of Higher Grounds, secretary; TJ Semanchin of Kickapoo Coffee, treasurer;  Dan Bailey of Amavida Coffee; Glenn Lathrop of Desert Sun Coffee; Larry Larson of Larry’s Beans; Mike Mays of Heine Brothers’ Coffee and Terry Patano of DOMA Coffee Roasters.  

Cooperative Coffees is the world’s only green coffee importing cooperative of roasters, bringing together 24 Fair Trade, organic coffee roasteries located in the United States and Canada.  By the end of 2011, Cooperative Coffees will have purchased 3.5 million pounds of Fair Trade coffee from 22 farmer-owned cooperatives around the world. Café Campesino is a founding member of Cooperative Coffees, which was formed in 1999. 

Comments are closed.

Copyright © 2017 Fair Trade Wire All rights reserved. Theme by Laptop Geek.
Template customization, site implimentation and design by Lowthian Design Works